Harp Teachers

List of Harp Teachers by State

This is a courtesy listing for those who have asked to be listed.  Melody’s does not recommend any teachers in particular.  We do recommend that you make an informed decision on your teacher according to your needs, desires and goals as both a musician and harpist.

Alabama
Linda Lowe Thompson
Anniston
(205)240-9070
website: http://www.lindalowethompson.com

Arkansas
Pamela Gibson
Little Rock
(501) 661-9278
email: sweetharp1@yahoo.com

Beth Stockdell
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Beth@stockdell.com

Brenda Bowen Cox, northwest Arkansas; B.S. in Music Education and Certified Music Practitioner.  BBCharp@aol.com or visit me on Facebook or LinkedIn.

California
Stephanie Bennett
Northridge / Greater Los Angeles
(818) 377-4085
web site: www.harpworld.com

Harriette Lanner
Placerville-Sacramento
530 344 0255
Lever and Cross-Strung
All levels welcome
email: harpgliss@yahoo.com

Kate Loughrey
Southern CA
All ages and abilities
www.californiaharpist.com

Lynn Michel
San Francisco / Peninsula / Palo Alto
(415) 246-8151
email: lynn_michel@hotmail.com
web site: www.lynnmichel.com

Laura Porter
Fresno and Bakersfield
(888) 477-1487
email: Harpporter2@aol.com

Donna L. Rickard
South Orange County
949/830-6578
email:

d.rickard@musician.org
Pedal/lever harp instructions-all ages and abilities welcome

California and Nevada
Anne Roos
Professional Celtic Harpist and Instructor–30 years of experience playing all varieties of music and teaching all levels of learners. Skype lessons available.
South Lake Tahoe, CA
http://www.celticharpmusic.com/
anne@celticharpmusic.com
800-255-6318

Janice Williams
Chico, CA
email: celticharper@sbcglobal.net

Colorado
Star Edwards
Enoch Productions
PO Box 18464, Denver, CO 80218-0464
Phone: 303-831-1744
www.starharp.com

Susan Zevenbergen
Fort Collins
(970) 221-1062
specializes in Celtic harp for beginners – all ages
email: wingdancer2000@yahoo.com
webpage: www.myharpsdelight.com

Connecticut

Wendy Kerner – Wilton, Connecticut
203-554-0267
WKLHarp@gmail.com
B.M. and M.M. in Harp Performance The Juilliard School
Adjunct Professor of Harp, Sacred Heart University
Active Private Harp Studio and Performing Schedule

District of Columbia
Melissa Tardiff Dvorak
(703) 748-4990
email: melissa@capitolharpists.com
web site: www.capitolharpists.com

Wendy Willis
(301) 588-2502
email: wwillis218@aol.com

Florida
Bambi Fischer
Fort Myers
(239) 939-7044
email: fischarper@yahoo.com
Lisa Kikol
Lever and Pedal
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
954/684-0441
lkikol@aol.com

Jan Jennings
Central Florida
(407) 905-2501
www.harpbiz.com

Maryjean Zarick
Central Florida – Lever Harp only
25 years performing & teaching
former faculty Willamette Univ.
407-862-2945
paradisemusic.info@yahoo.com

Sue Carole DeVale, Ph.D. Music
West Central Coast (Tampa Bay etc.)
lever, pedal, and historic harp
more than 30 years of teaching & performing
727-577-4277
SCDV@aol.com

Georgia
Lisa Handman
Alpharetta / Greater Atlanta
(770) 442-9172 studio
(404) 401-5032 cell
(770) 442-1893  fax
email: LHand30556@aol.com
web site: www.harpnotes.com

Susan Ottzen
1249 Thomas Rd.
Decatur, GA 30030
404-378-7756
ottzen@mindspring.com
www.susanottzen.com

Tyler Hartley
Woodstock / Alpharetta / Kennesaw Georgia
HarpistTyler@gmail.com
www.HarpistTyler.com
BM in music performance; teaches lever and pedal, students of all ages

Hawaii
Bonnie Mitchell
Kealakekua, Kona Hawaii
Phone # 808 323 8338
email: bonnie@harpistinhawaii.com
www.harpistinhawaii.com

Illinois
Annette Bjorling
Evanston / Greater Chicago
(847) 475-3905
all experience levels – many different styles – also rents harps
email: harper@muziker.org
web site: www.muziker.org/annette

Lillian Lau
Chicago, IL and suburbs
e-mail: lillharp@gmail.com
website: www.LyrebirdEnsemble.com

Barbara Fackler
Wheaton
adults only – all levels
email: harpist@hornandharp.com
web site: www.hornandharp.com

Aislinn Gagliardi
Chicago
773-226-2454
All levels; specializes in traditional Irish and classical music
e-mail: aislinn@aislinnmusic.com
website: www.aislinnmusic.com

Janelle Lake
harpist.janelle@gmail.com
847-636-2612
www.wheretheharpis.com
Area: Chicago land

Sharon Crabbe
Carol Stream, IL
630-225-1400
Professional harpist and teacher

Indiana
Nancy Lentz
Nappanee
(574) 773-3285
Lever harpists only
email: jmlentz@hoosierlink.net
Website: http://www.harpmusicbynancy.com

Cynthia Shelhart
Chesterton
(219) 508-3558
specializes in traditional and contemporary Scottish and Irish music
email: harp@cynthiashelhart.com
web site: www.cynthiashelhart.com

Kristin Hillegonds
9579 Henry Street
Dyer, IN 46311
219-613-3973
krhharp@comcast.net

Catherine Trout
Logansport
troutstring@aol.com

Kansas
Wilma Liles
Lenexa
(913) 894-5309
email: wilma@kcharplady.com

RoJean Loucks
Salina
(785) 827-4419
email: roharps@aol.com

Phaedra Miller
Olathe
(913) 669-4654

Kentucky
Debbie McCord
Florence / Greater Cincinnati
(859) 525-0051

Kansas
Patti Schrag
Greater Wichita area
iharp4u2@sbcglobal.net
316-789-0976

Wilma Kelly Liles
Lever harp instruction, KC metro area and Skype
816-550-4414
Wilma@kcharplady.com
www.kcharplady.com

Louisiana
Barbara Belew – assoc. Prof. of Music McNeese State
Lake Charles, LA
475-5036 (O)
477-4545 (H)

Bette Vidrine
Lafayette, LA
337-255-3622
bettetheharpy@yahoo.com
both lever and pedal harp

Maryland
Sue Richards
Rockville
hazelharp9@gmail.com
Phone: 301.412.8590
all levels – all ages – specializes in Celtic repertoire and style

Barbra Bailey Bradley
Rockville, MD
301-424-3459
beebeebee@starpower.net
www.beeharp.com

Mary Fitzgerald
Bowie
301-352-3690
e-mail: harpersmary@me.com
website: http://www.harpersmary.com/

Anastasia Pike
Ft. Meade
All ages, styles, and levels
www.annapike.com

Massachusetts
Dr. Lizary Rodriguez
Canton/Boston area
Traditional and Suzuki methods
781-571-9775
e-mail: lizary@lizary.net
website: www.lizary.net

Minnesota
Stephanie Claussen
in Minneapolis/St. Paul
651. 647. 1139
claus123@umn.edu

Cathy Victorsen
Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota area.
651-644-7016
cathy.victorsen@gmail.com

Missouri
Eva Murphy
www.stlouisharp.com

Michigan
June C. Zydek – sjzydek1@comcast.net
BM Music Ed, Organ Performance
MM Voice, post graduate harp studies
21 years public school music teacher
Pedal and Lever Harp
Chesterfield area  586-598-1198

Montana
Amanda Olson
Billings, Montana area
(406)259-3721
leander88@msn.com

Nebraska
Lincoln, NE
Heidi Beran
www.harpinheidi.com

New Hampshire
Jane Wilcox Hively
North Conway
(603) 356-0716
website www.mtnstreamsmusic.com
email: mtnstreamsmusic@hotmail.com

New Jersey
Stephanie M. Sussmeier
Ocean City, NJ 08226
Teach Pedal and Lever-all ages
BanbaFodh@aol.com
Or 609-399-6570

Mary Schafer
Voorhees / Southern New Jersey
(856) 751-0337
E-mail: Harpist3@aol.com
Lever and Pedal harp

Odarka Stockert
(973)763-6303
Millburn, NJ

New Mexico
Linda Larkin
Santa Fe
email: LSLarkinHarp@gmail.com

Dr. Julietta Rabens-Moore
Pedal, Folk, or Double Harp
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Email: juliettamusic@gmail.com
www.juliettamusic.com

Karen McKibben
Albuquerque, New Mexico.
Karenmckibben3@yahoo.com
lever harp

New York
Lois Colin
Larchmont
(914) 834-4714
email: Loico2000@yahoo.com
web site: www.LoisColin.com

Donna Benier
Rochester NY
(585) 671-6643
website: HarpByDonna.com
Rochester NY

Lisa Craig Fenwick
Ithaca, NY and Fingerlakes area
607-257-6962
I teach and play both pedal and lever harp
www.lightlink.com/lisaharp
harpflute@twcny.rr.com

Roxanne Ziegler
Rochester NY
585.288.3101
www.rochesterharpist.com

Myra Kovary
607-277-3485
mmk29@cornell.edu
www.myrakovary.com

Deette Bunn
Syracuse University
Good with Adults
Upstate and Central New York Area
315-569-1630
email: deettebunn@yahoo.com

Meredith Kohn Bocek
Apalachin, NY 607-687-3410
www.TheHarpStudio.net

Susan Mann
Long Island, NY (Suffolk County)
631-754-8022
harpist@longislandharpstudio.com

Ohio
Trista Hill
Delaware / Greater Columbus
(740) 363-5544
email: trista@tristahill.com
web site: www.tristahill.com

Susan Krysiak, CMP
Avon Lake
(440) 933-4624
email: smkharp@comcast.net
Denise Grupp-Verbon
Northwest Ohio/Southeast Michigan
419-476-8738
harpist@sbcglobal.net
www.queenofharps.com

James Predovich
Columbus, Ohio
email: JamesPredovich@hotmail.com
website: www.StringsNsuch.com
Phone: 614-915-7412

Lydia Sander
Lancaster, Ohio
1-740-503-8745

Oklahoma
Lorelei Barton (Director of Midwest Harp Festival, Tulsa)
harpfestival@sbcglobal.net
http://www.midwestharpfestival.org/  and http://www.tulsaharp.com
(918) 832-0934

Ruth Giessen – Tulsa
www.GlissBliss.com
918-749-0904

Tammy Willcox – Miami, OK
email: harpcrazy@hotmail.com

Melissa Young – Norman, OK
405 364-0168
melissa_young@sbcglobal.net

Linda Barton Paul
Professional Touring Harpist, Harp Educator, Clinician
harplinda1@gmail.com
www.harplinda.com 918-629-7259
Tulsa, Oklahoma

Oregon
Kathryn Cater
Portland
email: vetnut@monitorcoop.com
web site: www.monitorcoop.com/~vetnut/kcater.html

Laurie Hunter
Medford
(541) 512-1290
email: lahunter90@aol.com

Joyce M. Leonard
Milwaukie
(504) 654-2089
email: jtoonz@aol.com

Emily Grau Silver
Portland
(971) 222-6429

Carole Bellinger
West Linn/Portland OR area
(503) 655-4327
www.carolebellinger.com

Pennsylvania
Mindy Cutcher
Fort Washington/Greater Philadelphia area
215-887-5106
mcutcher@juno.com
www.harpbyrequest.com

Martha Clancy
Wayne / Greater Philadelphia
(610) 783-5686

Wendy McCormick
Jersey Shore
(570) 398-1387
email: mmccormi@cub.kcnet.org

Alison Simpson
Doylestown / Greater Philadelphia
(215) 348-5288
email: asimpsonharpist@aol.com

Professor Gloria Galante
215-342-9397
ggalante@wcupa.ed
www.gmgstudios.com
West Chester University College of Visual and Performing arts/ Harp program

Robin Arioto Fickle
All ages, lever and pedal harp
Bucks County, Princeton-Philadelphia area
(215) 428-1944
www.psalmodymusic.com
Robnharp@msn.com

Hannah Eagleson
hannaheag@comcast.net

Rhode Island
Liz Ammerman
liz@lizammerman.com
www.lizammerman.com

Tennessee
Laura Elder
Chattanooga
(423) 296-0555
email: harpe1@bellsouth.net

Phyllis Sparks
Nashville
(615) 333-0804
email: harpist1@comcast.net
web site: www.nashvilleharpist.com

Texas – Houston Area

Mary Radspinner
maryradspinner@gmail.com
Skype or in person
Wisconsin – summer
Texas – winter

Danielle Harmon
jacedunraven@hotmail.com
713-894-0429
BM and MM in Harp Performance from the University of North Texas
Teaches lever and pedal harp, to all ages primarily in the Clear Lake. She travels to student’s home or school, and can bring a harp if needed during the lesson.

Leah Jorgensen
angelharp@gmail.com
Phone: 713-240-6844
pedal harp, lever harp, Celtic harp trio, also sings
http://www.leah-jorgensen.com/index.htm

Melissa Berger
Cypress area, Texas Tech graduate
dancingstrings@sbcglobal.net

Dona Allen
Memorial and I-10 W
713-825-2388
good with beginning adults – has 2 lever harps for rent

Becky Baxter
Clear Lake and Sharpstown
(713) 774-2900

Sadie Turner
Harpist & Teacher in Spring, Klein, Cypress, Rice University
Phone: 281.798.8648
Email: svturner@gmail.com

Susanna Campbell
Susanna Campbell
Energy Corridor, Memorial
281-620-0742
harpistsusanna@gmail.com
www.harpandpiano.com

Hope Cowan
Houston, TX (Katy)
Beginners, Advanced, and adults
507-993-4969
hope.k.cowan@gmail.com
hopecowanharp.com

Betsy Brownlee
Pearland, Baytown, and Pasadena
(713) 944-7915

Molly Ness
Fine Arts Academy at Christ United Methodist Church
Beginners
Sugar Land, TX and Richmond area
77459
mollyanneness@hotmail.com

Jackie Carpenter
SW Houston
713-818-1897

Terese Weber  M.M. Universita of Arizona
– technique, memorization, advanced repertoire, recital preparation
713-524-1101
Montrose area

Cathryn Daniels – Kingwood/Houston
www.harpworks.com
cathryn@harpworks.com
801-369-1024

Jennie Davis
Heights
(713) 426-4199
good with beginners
email: jend1302@sbcglobal.net

Joanna Elliot
U of H Area
(713) 668-8751
email: harpist@harpelegance.com
web site: www.harpelegance.com

Emily Mitchell
Harp Faculty, SFA University
Southeastern Texas
memilym1@aol.com

Andrea Fronk
League City area
www.HarpistHouston.com
andreafronk@yahoo.com
281-620-3125

Stephanie Gustafson
Houston
847.254.0419
stephanie.gustafson2@gmail.com
www.stephaniegustafson.com

Bonnie Goodrich
Montrose / Museum District
(713) 526-8856
students of all ages and levels
www.harpistbonniegoodrich.com
www.goodrichharpstudio.com

Therese Honey
Medical Center & Rice University
Children and Adults
(713) 529-6508
email: thoney@flash.net
web site: www.theresehoney.net

Karen McGarrett
Piney Woods area of TX
(East TX – near Nacodoches)
936-652-4277
E-mail: waltforshoes@aol.com

Laurie Meister
SW Houston
Graduate of Rice University.  Performs with Houston Symphony and Houston Ballet.
713-218-0957
lauriemeister@hotmail.com

Margaret Norman
South Brazoria County
(409) 849-3175

Betsy Paine
NW Houston and anywhere in the world via online harp lessons using Skype!
832-607-9128
All ages, beginner to advanced intermediate levels
Lever, pedal, and cross-strung harp
email: cross_harps@yahoo.com or virtualharplessons@yahoo.com

Cathryn Parker
The Woodlands
801-688-5434
parkerpalace@gmail.com; harpistatheart.blogspot.com

Sandra Salstrom
Tomball, Westheimer & Beltway 8 area
281.543.1156
beginner and intermediate – lever or pedal
email: contact@sandrasalstrom.com
web site: http://www.sandrasalstrom.com

Louise Trotter
Memorial and I-10 W
(281) 497-2986
email: ltrotter@houston.rr.com
web site: www.louisetrotter.com

Yinuo Mu
216.255.4418
ymuharpa@gmail.com
www.yinuoharp.com

Debra O’Donnell
Sugar Land, Memorial and Spring Branch
(713) 412-1360

Karen Vick
Pasadena
(281) 487-2667
email: kvharp@earthlink.net

Sarah Oliver
BM Oberlin MM University of Houston
Medical Center area
www.saraholiverharp.com
also has Troubadour harps for rent
713-309-0531

Kellye Barnard
Harpmommy@gmail.com
281-557-4056
South Houston (Kemah
beginner students, or intermediate levels.

Abigail Sliva
email: abigailslivaharp@gmail.com
phone: (630) 577-7932
website: abigailslivahoustonharp.com

Austin area

Elaine Barber
(512) 569-6444
elaine.barber@yahoo.com

Melissa Calusio
(512) 892-5975
email: melissa@calusio.com
web site: www.austinharp.com

Delaine Fedson
(512) 335-6249
email: fedson@harpist.net

Ayren Huslig
(512) 899-2744

Pamela S. Keightley
(512) 695-0863
also rents harps
email: pkeightley@austin.rr.com
web site: home.austin.rr.com/celticharper

Emilia Perfetti-White
281.797. 5803
emilias47strings@gmail.com

Lisa Lamb
www.silverwingsmusic.com
silverwingsmusic@gmail.com

Hannah DeLadurantey
http://www.eleganzastrings.com

Louisa Woodson
website: www.louisaharp.com
e-mail: louisaharp@gmail.com

Beaumont

Charlotte Mizener
(409) 896-2110
email: cpmizener@yahoo.com

Boerne (Austin, San Antonio)
Laverne Pederson
(830) 249-8161

Dallas / Fort Worth

Kimberly DeRosa
Contact: (713) 962-6923; kimberlyharp@gmail.com
Hickory Creek, TX (Dallas/Denton/Lewisville)
Skype lessons available.
All ages and all levels. Pedal and lever.
Completed graduate studies at Royal Conservatory of Toronto (Judy Loman) and BM at SMU (Susan Pejovich).
Margaret Atkinson Corinth
940-321-3673

Harp Music for Your Wedding or Special Event


Folk Music

Patricia Diers
(940) 440-2818
web site: www.padiers.com

Meghan Gomen
(832) 656-2185
E-mail: mgomen@yahoo.com

Harker Heights / Killeen
Gretchen Williams
(254) 699-9050
web site: www.centexharpist.com

McAllen
Lou Ann Gramman
Phone (956)283-7676
Cell: (956)802-3561

Nacogdoches
Emily Mitchell
Harp Faculty, SFA University
Southeastern Texas & East Texas
memilym1@aol.com

Karen McGarrett
Pedal & lever harp – All ages welcome! – Rentals available
(936) 347-3157 – Home
(281) 782-6313 – Cell
Website: www.McGarrettHarpStudios.com
E-mail: waltforshoes@aol.com

Odessa

Reba McHaney
(432) 366-2684
(432) 553-0297

Rowlett (near Dallas)
Denise Holland
(972) 475-2943

San Angelo (middle of Texas – heart of Texas)
Sharon Towndrow
(915) 944-8823
email: sharon.towndrow@angelo.edu

San Antonio
Nelda Etheredge
(210) 829-4515
email: nelda@saharp.com
web site: www.neldaetheredge.com

Pauline Glickman
(210) 696-5536

Alice Keene
San Antonio, TX
830-714-5028
keenealice@aol.com
www.harpistalicekeene.com

Nancy McHugh
(210) 826-8901

John Strand
(210) 655-8251
web site: www.onewebring.com/john_strand.htm

Utah
Summer Pedersen
Provo
(801) 921-9084
email: s_arpista@yahoo.com

Vermont
Mary Fran Stafford
mfstafford@myfairpoint.net
Vermont, central area

Virginia
Virginia Bethune
540-820-9631
vafromva@live.com
www.healingharpmelodies.org

Rita Hamilton
Richmond
(804) 340-3479
adult students only

Elizabeth Dechent
Richmond, VA
804-270-9662
all levels, lever & pedal

Washington
Patricia Jaeger, Seattle
All Ages. Lever and Pedal
pjaeger99@hotmail.com

Valerie K. Blessley
Vancouver
(360) 576-8111
lever harp and Finnish kantele (Perhonjoki style)
email: blesses@pacifier.com

Nancy Davis
Spokane
(509) 467-3136
email: nancy@harpscapes.com

Jennifer Pratt-Walter
Vancouver
(360) 693-4715
lever harp only – all ages
email: Lyrica@comcast.net

Earecka Tregenza
beginner and advanced, pedal and lever
Spokane, Washington
509-473-9060
www.harpviolin.com

Laurie Wright
The Wright Music Studio
Lever and Pedal harp instruction
Ages 5 to adult, beginning to advanced level
Bellevue, WA (greater Seattle area)
425-271-8460
email: WrightMusicStudio@gmail.com

Serena Miller
Teaches lever harp
Nine Mile Falls, WA (Spokane area)
509-276-9041
Email: serenaannemiller@yahoo.com

Wisconsin
Tammy Naze
Algoma
(920) 487-2006

Serena O’Meara
Eau Claire
715-830-5070
email: harp@omearamusic.com
web site: www.omearamusic.com

Birgit Ruotsala
Green Bay
(920)499-3663
prefers adult students – all levels

Wyoming
Dave Shaul
Studied with Suzanne McDonald.
On juried Artist Roster (Wyoming Arts Council).
wyomingharp@yahoo.com
www.DavesMusicOnline.com
(307) 214-2359

Harp Teachers in Other Countries

Norway
Zuzana Pestukova
harpist for the Stavanger Symphony Orchestra

This information is provided as a service to our harpist customers.
Melody’s Traditional Music assumes no liability or fault for
anyone using the services of any musician whose name has been gleaned
from our web site. Harpists wishing to submit information will be
sending a note to Mary Radspinner. gentryroad@hotmail.com